Range Review of Smith and Wesson Performance Center 629

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Product Reviews, Shooting
Tags: , , , ,

I went to the range on Wed. and shot the short-barrel performance center 629 that I reviewed in an earlier post.  Half the session was ball-and-dummy where I loaded the cylinder with anywhere from 2-4 dummy rounds and the remainder were live rounds.

I’m very new to revolver shooting, so this report gives you some idea of how the gun performs in the hands of a new shooter.  I did notice a slight tendency to raise the gun just before the trigger broke.  More rigid concentration on the front sight helped eliminate this tendency; essentially, make sure you can fully see the front sight when the gun goes off.

The second half of the session was live rounds with a Zombie target from 10 and 12 yards.

44range

This is a pretty small target, so that inner ring is about five inches across.  Yes, I jerked a few up and right.  However, with proper focus and trigger control, the revolver is right on out of the box without a single adjustment.  I have not altered the sights at this point in time.

I’m still incredibly pleased with performance-center tuned trigger.   Yes, I could have chosen something more tame for my entree into revolver shooting, but I’m looking forward to working my way into this one 🙂

Comments are closed.