Product Review: MicroVault MV 500

Posted: January 23, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

This is a review of the MicroVault MV 500 by GunVault, a mid-tier offering in their portable safe line.  The MicroVault line contains the following models, the MV 500 (2.25 x 8.5 x 11), the MV 1000 (3.5 x 10.25 x 12), and a biometric version of each model.  I purchased the non-biometric model for my car safe.  It was important that the vault slide underneath the seat and at least hold my full-size Glock (w/extended barrel), so I decided on the 500 model instead of the 1000.

I’ve owned my unit for three months at the time of this review and the use case is as a car safe with additional intent to store firearms in a hotel if we ever travel to a state that does not have reciprocity with Texas (or I do not have a nonresident CHL for that state).

mv500

The MV500 interior dimensions are 2 x 6.5 x 10.75.  As shown below, the unit with the factory foam liner holds my Glock 31 with extended barrel and a Smith 629 (short-barrel).  That’s an N-frame revolver.  The fit is a bit tight, but I did not have to force anything.

mv500filled

Unlike the lower-end models (the NanoVault line), the micro- and mini-vaults are reputed to be nearly impervious to common hand tools.  They all come with a security cable.  The micro-vault line is electronic and the internal computer prevents access after multiple invalid attempts to enter the code.  A flashing red light warns of invalid entry attempts.

The models also have a patented hand mold on top that facilitates proper finger placement on the keypad without directly looking at the unit.

The MicroVault also has a weak battery indicator to inform you well in advance on when to replace the 9-volt battery that powers the unit (and there is a backup key).

After entering the proper code, the top moves upward, but is not spring-loaded; it must be completely opened by hand.  I actually prefer this for car usage, although some may have to get used to the operation.

The units are advertised as waterproof, but I have yet to immerse one in water to find out 🙂  They are also claimed as approved for TSA travel, but I don’t fly very much and have yet to test this claim in action.  I also have not attempted to compromise the security cable.  It seems reasonable enough to deter a smash-and-grab car thief or hotel cleaning staff, but I would probably not put it up against a determined professional.

MSRP is $159, but you can get them at local gun shows in the $100 to $110 range.  So far, I’ve been pleased with mine. I use it at least once a week to store firearms while I’m at gun shows.  In three months of 1-3 times a week usage, I have not experienced a single problem.

Comments
  1. […] on my generally positive experience with the Gunvault MicroVault MV 500, I decided to try the MiniVault Deluxe (Gunvault 2000D) for closet storage of backup ammo, mostly […]