Glock 20 Gen 4 Mods Part I

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , ,

This is the first in a couple of posts to detail mods I’ve made to my Glock 20 Gen 4.

I’m working with Mike Caylor at Caylor Customs on the mods, the first set of which focus on the most glaring deficiencies of any stock Glock model; the sights and trigger. First, we replaced the front sight with a Dawson Precision fiber optic.  I chose the thinner model, opting for faster target acquisition over accuracy.

Since the primary use cases for the firearm are outdoor, I have not yet modified the rear sights.  Next, Mike performed an awesome trigger job on the G20.  In addition to the usual suspects (3.5 connector/polish), the trigger now has a very smooth uptake followed by a crisp wall with absolutely no grit or extra movement.  After the required pressure, the trigger breaks and that’s it.  Best trigger I’ve ever felt on a Glock by far!

Mike also recommended a titanium striker, so he installed a Lightning Strike.  I was anxious to see how the gun performed, especially in a rapid-fire drill, so I took it to the range last week.  It was a good exercise since I had been previously working with my Ruger SRH and Springfield XD-S quite a bit.  So, this was the first time I had fired the Glock in over a month.

I fired 51 rounds in strings of three, controlled triples (present, sight-picutre, shot, sight-picture, shot, sight-picture, shot, sight-picture).  All shots were fired as rapidly as a sight picture could be obtained from a distance of 10 yards.  The inner ring of the Zombie target is 4 3/4 x 5 3/4 in.

target

I jerked a few, which is bad trigger control on my part; the gun continues to be more accurate than I am.

I’m outside a a lot, either hiking, playing tennis, or driving on business and I wear the same impact-resistant sunglasses for all activities, so that’s what I wear on the range.  In dry-fire drills using only outside light flowing into the apartment, the DP sights are awesome.  Like any other FO sight with indoor range lighting (especially viewed through sunglasses), it suffers a bit.

I can’t scientifically measure the effect of the titanium striker.  All I can say is that I’m very pleased with the result of the rapid-fire tests with the exception of some trigger-control issues which are my problem and not the equipment.

I’m waiting for a semi-fit Barsto barrel to arrive and will post again after the fitting and a couple more mods, which will probably include a laser since animal encounters on hikes (this includes two-legged bad guys) often involve more than one and rarely allow for a complete draw, presentation, and full use of sights.

Comments
  1. […] NOTE:  May update – first round of mods posted here. […]