Product Review: Rand CLP Part I

Posted: June 4, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , ,

I walked by the RAND booth at NRA and the advertisement for the CLP product looked interesting, so I stopped and talked with the representatives for a few minutes.  They sent me some product samples for a full evaluation, so this is part I of a comprehensive review of RAND CLP in my Glock 20 Gen 4.

From the product site,

rand“RAND CLP is the best eco-friendly All-In-One: Cleaner, Lubricant and Protectant. RAND CLP enhances firearm performance and reliability using a rare vegetable oil base and a proprietary blend of nanoparticles to create a uniquely smooth and durable surface.  RAND CLP is non toxic, odorless, safe on all metals, polymers and woods and provides faster & easier cleaning after the initial pretreatment.

RAND CLP was created by a police firearms instructor (also Special Forces Army Vet) along with top scientists around the world.  It was specifically designed to deal with the everyday needs of serious and recreational firearm owners.”

Well, I’m a big Star Trek fan, so you had me at nanoparticles.

Seriously, though, I had a very strong interest in the product because of my wife’s extreme sensitivity to chemicals and smells.  Ballistol and Safari Charlie are completely out of the question.  Forget Hoppes. I simply can not use them in our small, one-bedroom apt. except during the winter and only when I clean and lube outside.

So, a product advertised as completely non-toxic and without odor is a huge plus.  Once the product arrived from RAND, my wife was kind enough to perform a smell test and it passed with flying colors.

RAND emailed two videos illustrating a test performed on two Glocks (treaded vs. untreated).

Pretreat

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKEknFnbvNI

Comparison

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgljY029LUI

Now, I’m a stickler for a very clean gun and I have a habit of cleaning after every training session, even if it’s only 50 rounds.  I’m very familiar with the level of effort required to clean my G20 after a 50-100 round session (and, this is my third Glock), so I wanted to see how the RAND product performed during an extended period of no cleaning between sessions.

Factory 10mm ammo is better than 9mm in the current market, but not by much, so I chose a 300 round test, broken down into four sessions over the course of two weeks.

100 rounds

50 rounds

50 rounds

100 rounds

I also performed dry-firing drills in between sessions of approximately 50 repetitions.  This worked the action considerably after each trip to the range with fouling in the gun, and it was not cleaned until after the fourth session.

150 rounds were GoodToGo Ammo 180gr. FMJ’s, 50 rounds were American Eagle 180gr FMJ, and the final 100 were PMC Bronze 200gr FMJ.  The GoodToGo rounds are relatively clean and I’ve always found PMC to be dirty, so I finished the test with those.

Before starting the test, I cleaned and pretreated from the most recent practice session using my normal bore foam and the RAND product.  I found that as a cleaner, it did as well or better than BreakFree.  I pretreated the upper as shown in the video as well as the lower, except that I applied no RAND CLP to the trigger assembly of the lower.  I did lube the outer part of the barrel but did not apply any pretreatment to the bore.

After reassembling the G20, I immediately noticed that the slide moved back and forth much smoother than after prior lubing with BreakFree.  Then, a few days later, it was off to the range for session one.

From past experience with PMC, I expected the muzzle area of the gun to be very dirty, especially since 200 rounds had been fired prior to the fourth session.  Here is what it looked like after that final range trip:

muzzle

Now, that was unexpected.  Next, I wiped off the area with a patch and here it is along with the field-stripped lower and upper.

breakdown

My cleaning process for the upper and lower is three-fold.  It begins with wipedown using an old t-shirt or other cloth followed by a soft brush, and then swabs for the final detail work.  I was pretty impressed at how much fouling was removed during the wipedown and how easy it came off.  Normally, I would use at least 3 swabs for both sections of the gun, even after a light 75-round session.

Here are the results with RAND pretreatment.

cleanup

The brushes looked like I just finished a 50 or 100-round cleaning and both the upper and lower required only two swabs to finish off the detail work (technically three for the slide since I used both ends of one swab for the final passes down the rail slots).  Again, if I just looked at the brushes and swabs without any other information, I would conclude that I fired no more than a hundred rounds in a single session.

The barrel was slippery when I removed it and it still appears relatively new (I only had 200 rounds downrange before beginning this test, so this is the 500-round mark with the gun).

barrel-top

barrel-bottom

In summary, I’m very pleased with RAND as a cleaner and lubricant.  I’ve already started using it for my XD-S .45 and my wife’s Sig P238, both of which seem to like running a bit wet.  I will continue to use it regularly in my G20 and I hope to have nearly a thousand rounds through the pistol before the next series of mods, which will include a gunsmith-fit barrel.  At that point, I’ll ask my armorer for his opinion of the pistol’s condition and post another update.

You can obtain more information on the RAND CLP product from their web site.

Comments are closed.