Product Review: The Gun Tool

Posted: August 1, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , ,

When the Gun Tool from Read Avid came out, my first though was that this is the Bear Grylls multi-tool for firearms.  I considered it to be a bit of overkill, but now that I have a tactical shotgun, AR-10, and multiple handguns (not to mention optics), I have to admit that it’s a great addition to my range bag.  The tool itself is lighter than one might expect just by looking at the size,

guntool

I was given one at the recent NRA show to review and I’ve had it in my bag for two months now.  While I don’t use it often, it’s one of those items that is incredibly useful for routine maintenance and modifications across the entire gamut of firearms.  It drops right into a range bag pocket, so it’s handy at the range or on the road (which is important since I travel a lot).

This multi-tool includes

Scope adjustment blade
Pin punch
Choke tube wrench for .410 – 12 ga
Magnetic bit storage block with access door
Flat blade 1/8″ & 3/16″ screwdriver bit
Hex 3/32″, 5/32″ driver
3/16″ magnetic driver
Phillips head screwdriver bit
Torx T10, T15, T20 driver
Knife blade (not very sharp out of the box)

The going price seems to be $24.99 and includes a magnetic bore light.  I’ve seen the tool at some local gun stores, but not at any of the Texas gun shows (other than NRA).  The NRA special price was $20.  You can also order directly from the Real Avid online store.  There is a ‘sheath and bits’ upgrade for ten bills that includes:

• EVA molded belt sheath
• 5 extra hex drive bits: 5/64″, 7/64″, 1/8″, 9/64″, 3/16″ with a 1/4″ hex driver adapter

The big kahuna is currently listed on Amazon for just over $22 .  You can also order just the GunTool if you want the basic tool without the bore light.

You can even order a special Ruger version, which is priced at about $21 on Amazon.com or just under $18 on Midway USA (all prices are valid at the date of this post).

I hope you find this tool to be as useful as I have.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.