Product Review: Ghost Targets

Posted: August 12, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags:

“Ghost Targets are exciting and fun to shoot as seen in the videos below and we believe they will be the hottest target in 2013 and
will help bring in new shooters to this great sport, young and old.”

“If you can hit a Ghost Target, you can hit anything.”

Those are just two of the claims from the manufacturer’s web site.  Now, most of the time, we have a tendency to dismiss such things as marketing hype, but I can say from personal experience that both of these are valid claims.  I will, however, leave the door open for ‘hottest target of 2013’ just in case someone introduces a walking, bleeding Zombie target.  That would not only be the coolest target of 2013, but perhaps the coolest target of all time.

Now, back to Ghost Targets.  I had an opportunity to shoot at these this weekend at Fusion Gun Range.  Here’s whet they look like.

gt_1

I apologize for the camera angle.  The measuring tape was lined up to show that the target was about an inch wide, but it did not come out that way when I centered the phone camera over the middle of both items.

Now, here’s what they look like in a sample target configuration.  Each bag comes with paper-clip hooks and rubber bands, which makes it pretty easy to setup in a variety of ways.

gt_2

I went for the two on the left and it took me 25 rounds to hit both of them.  I stepped the distance off afterwards – 22 yards.  The target was riddled in .45 cal. holes all around the two ghost targets.  It doesn’t look like much from the photo, but once you hit one and it expands in a puff of white smoke, all you can think about is wanting to hit another one 🙂  It’s entirely too addictive.

I brought my terrorist target, orange gong, and the self-sealing cube target to the range for use by myself and other shooters.  Ugh.  No one was interested.  Everyone was obsessed with the ghost targets.

They are great for kids and the environment.  The targets are non-toxic and biodegradable.  From a practice standpoint, they are tremendous.  It really teaches you focus and trigger control.  At the distance I was practicing, the green dot from my RMR completely overwhelmed the target, so it was necessary to focus entirely on the dot and exercise precise trigger control.

You can hang these targets as show above, from a rope, or in pretty much any configuration bounded only by your imagination.  They come in three size, 5/8″, 7/8″, and 1 1/8″ (the ones shown above).

For more information, contact casper [at] ghosttargets [dot] com or call at 214-773-1651.  But, don’t blame me if you start burning through ammo like never before.  You have been warned 🙂

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.