Archive for August 14, 2013

NOTE: An update on the Sig 716 is available here.

If you’ve read this blog long enough, then you know my general philosophy regarding bad guys and self-defense.  The best caliber is the one between your ears, and the best weapons are situational awareness, escape, evasion, and outright avoidance.  I’m a strong believer in circle of force or force continuum for close-quarters encounters to provide less-than-lethal alternatives.  Or, another way to phrase it is always have some optional available other than going zero-to-lethal.  I have absolutely no desire to shoot anything other than artificial targets.

Zombies, however, are a different story.  They can’t be avoided.  They can’t be bargained with.  They can’t be reasoned with.  And, they absolutely will not stop until they sink their teeth into you.  As a card-carrying member of the Zombie Apocalypse Neutralization Team, it’s necessary for me to be proficient in handgun, shotgun, and rifle.  So, here’s a quick introduction to the newest family member, the Sig 716 Zombie Stopper.

sig716-2

The Sig was not my first choice for an AR-10, but I think it was about the best within my budget.  I got a great deal on the rifle AND a Geissele two-stage trigger from Robert Burke (The Sig Armorer).

I have a Magpul hand stop installed and the optic is a backup (Sightmark Z-Series that I got a fantastic deal on at a gun show).  The EOTech I ordered is actually on backorder.  Serious backorder.  Hopefully it will arrive before the full-on Zombie Apocalypse.  Or, maybe I’ll win the lotto one day and I can afford an ACOG.

Some of the other Zombie essentials include:

– Badger Ordinance tactical latch.  After-market charging handles are a no-go on the 716, but the tactical latch really does the trick and allows for quick charging with either hand.

latch

– SJC Titan Compensator from LaRue Tactical.  Great for keeping the rifle level when engaging multiple Zombies in rapid succession, especially since they often move in large groups.

sjctitan

– The Streamlight TLR-1s is not a SureFire, but for the price I obtained from LA Police Gear, it was a decent compromise.  Took forever to ship, though.  Zombies don’t see that well, but they can be disoriented from bright light, especially from the 12K candela/300LM focused beam from the parabolic reflector.

light

Of course, the most important accessory of all is the official Zombie Stopper rail cover – you can get these at most of the north Texas (Premier) gun shows.

zombie

I’ll post some range reports and reviews on the individual accessories at a later time.  Thanks for stopping by Texas Gun Show Review.

NOTE:  You can read the second part in the review of the Sig 716 here.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas