Product Review: Galco IWB Holster for S&W 629

Posted: September 11, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , ,

I really like my short-barrel S&W 629; it functions well as a primary or as a BUG, depending on the load.  The 200gr. short-barrel Gold Dot is my ‘bread and butter’ load for this revolver and I also run 225 gr. Barnes-X through it.  It carries quite well in my Kangaroo Carry shoulder holster, but there are times that I’d like to carry it IWB.

I wanted to test the gun in the actual holster before purchasing it, so I’ve kept my eyes open at the gun shows, but had very little luck.  There are, unfortunately, too many gun show vendors that try to force a product onto you to make a sale, regardless of its viability for the stated purpose.  I had one joker at a show tell me that these holsters were ‘designed’ to expose the trigger area that way.  Really?  Well, you can take keep that ‘design’ – I can tell when something does not fit.

Anyway, I did come across two vendors at separate shows tell me that Galco makes a great holster for that model, but they did not have it at the show.  At the San Antonio show, I was fortunate enough to find the right vendor and have the revolver checked into the show at the same time 🙂

galco1

The initial fit was incredibly tight; in fact, it was very difficult to draw the gun once holstered.  The holster, however, is designed that way.  The revolver needs to remain inside the holster for a day or so, followed by frequent draws and re-holstering for another day or two.  After that break-in, the firearm fits like a glove and draws nice and smooth.

galco2

galco3

The quality and fit of this product is exactly what you would expect from the Galco name.  I don’t have kids, but if I did, I suspect I could leave this holster to them and they would pass it along to grandkids.

The 629 conceals nicely underneath my hiking vest and it’s quite comfortable to wear even on long drives.  I’ve even taken it to the range and worn it while practicing with a hip holster for my Ruger SRH with no issues.  Needless to say, Mr. Smith accompanies me just about everywhere 🙂

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.