Gun Gear To Go

Posted: October 14, 2013 in General, Vendor Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I had quite a few errands to run this weekend and one of them required a drive to Plano.  Ah, just the excuse I needed to drop by Gun Gear To Go (located west of the intersection of 75 and Parker).  I had seen their advertising and signed up for the newsletter on the web site.  Since I’m in the market for a couple of G20 mags, I thought this would be a great opportunity to check out the operation.

ggtg

GGTG did not want pictures taken of their showroom, but the first thing I noticed was that while the floor was not the largest you will ever walk onto, they made extremely good use of available space.  The entire store was crammed full of guns and gear, yet it was very easy to walk around.

Unfortunately, they did not stock G20 mags, although they did have some G21 mags in stock.  Glock mags topped out at $32.99, notably lower than the recently opened Gander Mountain, for example.  I spent some time looking at their selection of Glock and Sig handguns, and both were reasonably priced.  In fact, I noticed a gen-4 G31 that was priced almost exactly the same as the one I purchased at a Ft. Worth gun show last July (and that price was lower than any of the nearby retail outlets).

In terms of accessories, they were rather well stocked, but it was the holster selection that blew me away.  This is the first local retail outlet I’ve seen that stocks the Sticky Holsters (see my review on the Products page), and they had a very generous selection on the shelves.

GGTG sells ammo, but I did not get a good view of prices since the boxes were well behind the counter.  Their web site is not e-commerce capable.  I’ll have to buy some on the next trip to see how they stack up.

The staff was quite friendly and I had an opportunity to listen to one of their reps interact with a couple considering a firearm purchase while I was checking out Glock prices.  He made a point to talk ‘to’ the couple, not ‘at them’ or ‘down to them.’  He gave the pros and cons of the pistol under discussion and did not try to hard-sell them.

Overall, it was well worth the stop as I noticed several items I might wish to purchase in the future.  I think GGTG would do well at any of the north Texas gun shows with their combo of decent prices and good service.  The next time you’re in the Plano area (roughly in the vicinity of the Colin Creek mall), drop by and check them out.

Tomorrow, I’ll be back with a review of the FNX 45 Tactical.  Thanks for visiting Texas Gun Show Review.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.