Product Review: BDS Tactical Vertical Shoulder Holster

Posted: October 17, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I’ve already mentioned that if I could choose only one of my handguns to take into the Zombie Apocalypse, it would be the FNX 45 Tactical.  Of course, I’d cheat and sneak in a backup, but that’s another issue 🙂  Now, if I took the FNX 45 Tactical into battle and I could choose only one holster, what would it be?

bdsAh, yes, the BDS Tactical Vertical Shoulder Holster.

I’m already comfortable with vertical shoulder holsters and cross-draw, even from under my day-to-day hiking vest.  Now, I don’t know what season the Zombie Apocalypse will occur in, so I need to be ready winter or summer.  I don’t want sweat getting all over my pistol when carried close to the body in the Texas summer, and this product provides a comfortable option that I’ve proven in a few instances of actual summer carry will keep any firearm nice and dry.

On the subject of carry, this is not a concealment rig by any stretch of imagination, although it can be work in a hiking context under a sufficiently loose vest in the summer.  The rig is flexible, but rigid enough that the backpack straps do not interfere with the draw.  Your left arm will stick out a bit when dropped to the side, so keep that in mind if you plan to wear it under a loose jacket in cooler months.  It’s possible, but the rig was designed for open carry, so there will be issues when trying to wear it underneath something.

This rig was also designed for versatility.  In addition to the straps, the hostler can be adjusted to fit a variety of firearms, although it works best for larger frames and longer barrels.

bds-2

I liked how easy it was to customize the fit to my FNX 45 Tactical.  If I decide to add anything to the rail in the future, it’s an easy adjustment to accommodate the new equipment.  Now, I do wear this rig underneath a jacket or hiking vest and I found the thumb break made the draw very cumbersome, so I removed it on my model.  Ymmv.

So, here’s how it fits the FNX 45 Tatical.

bds-3

I’d have to say pretty much like a glove.  I really like the overall fit and feel of the holster and the draw is quick and smooth. The mag pouches barely accommodate the FNX 45 double-stack behemoths.  The rig is available in multiple colors and has proven to be quite practical while driving and in a hiking environment.

Although I’ve used it exclusively underneath some sort of outer garment, the rig impresses me as easy to fit over anything from a flight vest to soft armor to a plate carrier.

I’m pretty sure it will work well during the Zombie Apocalypse.  Thanks for visiting Texas Gun Show Review.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.