Product Review: Smoke ‘Em Targets Part II

Posted: October 30, 2013 in Product Reviews, Shooting
Tags: , , ,

On October 8, I performed a pretty extensive stress test of the Smoke ‘Em targets with a combination of 10mm and .44 magnum handguns.  Although the session was enjoyable, I left the range with a feeling of defeat.  I really wanted to blow that target completely away and nearly two hundred rounds of high-end handgun ammo failed miserably.

On October 24, I returned to Fusion Tactical Range to zero the ACOG on my AR-10 (Sig 716 Patrol).  That target was still standing despite more people pumping rounds into it and 24×7 exposure to rain and sun.  In fact, while I posted the paper target for my AR session, I could not help but feel that the Smoke ‘Em target was laughing at me, practically taunting me, as if I were the subject of a Twilight Zone episode.

Here it is, standing tall in the shade, practically daring me to shoot it some more.

target-1

You can see that the rain washed off some of the powder burn from my .44 mag. point-blank blast.  Can’t you hear it snickering at me that I was unable to blow out all the smoke cylinders or knock it to the ground?

Evil target.

I ignored the taunt and set up a rifle stand at 100m and then took care of business.  After finishing an enjoyable set of 20 rounds of 168 gr., I noticed that the sun had fully illuminated the Smoke ‘Em target and I could clearly see it laughing at me from over a hundred yards away.

Evil target.

I happend to have 60 rounds of 150 gr. FMJ, so I loaded up a mag and decided to put the Smoke ‘Em target in its place.  I shot three strings of 20 rounds from distances of about 25 to 60 yards; about half were unsupported and the other were semi-supported.

That red target still smoked when hit.  Not once, but twice!  This after over two weeks of exposure to the elements, including several days of rain.  After a few more hits, the cylinder popped out.  Ha ha, not smiling now, are you?

Next, I went to work on the blue cylinder at the top-right.  That one was really stuck in place.  It only smoked once, and not very much.  As you can see, a lot of my unsupported shots were a bit low, but the cylinder took quite a few .308 hits and was still in place.

target-2

Eventually, I blew out the blue cylinder.

target-3

I even took a few shots at the remaining cylinder, but ran out of ammo.

Evil target.

Nearly 200 rounds of 10mm and .44 magnum, 60 rounds of .308 through my AR-10, and the target is still standing.  Still taunting me.  Still laughing at me as I drove away from the range in defeat.

I wish I had a Dillon Aero.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments
  1. […] – product review, part I – product review, part II […]