Product Review: Shooting the Ruger Super Redhawk

Posted: November 1, 2013 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I’ve put several hundred rounds through my SRH, and I had a pretty long session yesterday afternoon, so I though this would be a good time to post a review.

It almost goes without saying that the revolver is rugged and well balanced. I found the double-action trigger pull to be acceptable right out of the box and it has become a little better with frequent firing.

Mine is the 7.5″ model, which helps quite a bit with overall balance. Perceived recoil is less noticeable than my other .44, the short-barrel Smith 629 (Performance Center model).

When I first began shooting the SRH, it had a tendency to shoot high and to the right. I kept thinking that I was at fault, but I let one of the RSO’s (who is a frequent revolver shooter) try it out and he shot high and right as well. We put the revolver on a stand and observed the same result. A minor sight adjustment took care of the issue.

On a personal basis, I always practice with DA pulls and tend to grip the trigger closer to the knuckle. Since I’m a tennis player, I have a bit of a subconscious tendency to treat the final part of the trigger pull as a volley motion and flex my wrist just slightly to the right, as if hitting a backhand volley. So, when I miss, the tendency is still a bit to the right.

The SRH requires a 6-o’clock sight picture and if I have not shot for a while, I tend to cover the POA with the sights, resulting in slightly high shots. These trends were both noticeable in yesterday’s practice session. I’m evaluating the FireClean CLP, so I really wanted to dirty up the revolver. The session was a total of 90 rounds (30 of which were Buffalo Bore hot .44 spc) from 9 yards. At 10-12 yards, the range lighting made it very hard to see the small ’10’ mark on the Zombie target. Nine yards seemed to be just right.

r-srh-target

 

As you can see, the predominant misses are just to the right and slightly high.  So, the SRH does exactly what I expect it to do, it shoots precisely where I aim it at any distance I might practically employ the firearm.

The feel is exceptional and the Hogue grips help with soaking up magnum recoil.  Even after dozens and dozens of magnum rounds, I felt like I could keep on shooting.  Of course, I need to find the magic ammo tree first 🙂

In summary, the SRH is a superb revolver and it is capable of firing very hot ammo such as Garrett Hammerheads.  I think that will be the subject of my next post on the SRH.  Thanks for spending part of your day at Texas Gun Show Review.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.