Vendor Profile: Donna Bickert, Femme Fatale

Posted: November 6, 2013 in Vendor Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Texas Gun Show Review publishes profiles of gun show vendors in an effort to get them ‘out from behind the table’ and in front of the public.  Profiles are published free of charge and all text is provided by the vendor.  Comments and views expressed are those of the vendor and not necessarily of Texas Gun Show Review.

Company: Femme Fatale
Owner: Donna Bickert
Web Site: http:/femmefataleholsters.com
Contact: donna [at ] femmefataleholsters [dot] com

donna“I suppose necessity truly is the mother of invention.”
– Donna Bickert, Femme Fatale Holsters

*I’m a fifth-generation Texan who grew up up around firearms. My grandparents had land and there was a loaded shotgun behind most doors at their house. Most of the men in my family were hunters. My cousins & I all learned to shoot when we were young. We would go out in the pasture and kill Dr. Pepper cans.

For most of my life, I did not consider carrying a firearm for personal protection, but about three years ago, I felt the need to obtain my CHL. The world had changed. I looked hard at carry options for a woman and became very frustrated trying to find a good way to conceal carry.

I had a girdle left over from the recovery phase of abdominal surgery, so I decided to put my designer skills to good use. I actually cut it apart and sewed together the prototype for what eventually became the Femme Fatale Corset Holster. My sister thought it was really cool and she actually wanted one, but I had no real desire to make holsters a business, since I had a full-time job and a kid still living at home.

Then, after twelve years with a company as a graphic designer, the company I worked for laid off practically everyone. With a kid in college and a need for a new income source, my husband suggested that I should “do something” with that holster idea. I suppose necessity truly is the mother of invention. I tweaked the design, sourced materials and turned it into a polished product that became in instant hit.

We debuted the product at gun shows in March of 2013 and we are at most of the north Texas shows as well as local events such as Diva WOW. We also try to participate in the Premier Gun Shows in San Antonio, The Woodlands and Cedar Park. In addition to the flagship corset holster, we now offer garter and ankle holsters. I have a couple of other designs in the works that I hope to debut soon.

Although we intend to continue building the brand and sell at gun shows, I’m pleased to announce that a number of retailers have expressed interest in our product and the intent is to grow the business through third-party retail sales.”

Comments are closed.