Otis Ripcord Review

Posted: March 3, 2014 in Product Reviews
Tags: ,

The Otis Ripcord was one of the many new products announced at SHOT Show 2014. I watched a demonstration on the final day of the show and the Otis rep. gave me a .308 version to take back for an evaluation.

The Ripcord is constructed of an oversized (for caliber) rubber core that extends for ten inches (on the .308) version and then narrows for easy insertion and pull-through for the remainder of its almost 24″ length.  I believe this is the standard pattern for rifle versions of the Ripcord. DuPont Nomex synthetic fibers cover the core and are intended to serve as a combination of brush and patch.  The material is heat resistant and can be used for quick cleaning in the middle of a practice session.

Crimped brass ferrules at each end allow 8-32 brushes and cleaning tips to be attached.

ripcord1

Otis advertised (and the sales rep. kept harping on the phrase) “one and you’re done.”  The implication is that a single pull through the barrel will remove all fouling based on the manner in which the fibers and core engage the rifling.  This system clearly competes with the popular Bore Snake and I suppose there is only one way to test the claim.

I needed to perform some ammo and bipod evaluations, so I took the Ripcord with me to a recent practice session of 50 rounds with my AR-10.  As soon as the session ended, I ran the Ripcord once through the 16″ barrel of my Sig 716 Zombie Stopper.  As advertised, it was an easy process although the fit was very tight.  The barrel was warm, but not excessively hot.

I made exactly one pass because, supposedly, “one and you’re done.”  I had a baton certification class later that evening and I did not return home until nearly midnight.  I waited until the next morning to clean the Sig.  To see how the Ripcord and Bore Snake compare, I placed several drops of FireClean on my .308 Bore Snake and ran it through the barrel.  If everyone’s marketing claims are true, then this barrel should be really, really, clean.  After all, if it’s “one and you’re done,” then how much better after two passes?

I then used the Otis breech-to-muzzle system to run several patches through the barrel.  The first five were sprinkled with a few drops of Rand CLP.  Rand is a veritable magnet for fouling.  Here is a photo of those patches.

ripcord2

This is AFTER my single Ripcord pass (advertised to be sufficient for a complete cleaning) AND a pass with a .308 Bore Snake and FireClean.

I ran three more patches with drops of Rand and two dry patches before I considered the barrel to be clean.

Needless to say, I don’t buy the “one and you’re done” line, not even for the modest MSRP of $13.99.  I do like the ability to make a quick (and partial) clean in the middle of a long session and tend to treat the Ripcord just like a six-brush revolver cleaner.  It’s great to remove some fouling during a long session or perform some initial cleaning when you won’t be able to perform a complete cleaning until a much later time.

I keep the Ripcord in my range bag for just such a purpose.  It’s “one and you’re off to a good start,” but for my purposes, Rand CLP and patches still comprise the definition of “done.”

Thanks for stopping by Texas Gun Show Review.

–  Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.