Sig P227 Review Part III

Posted: May 5, 2014 in Product Reviews
Tags: , ,

This is my final commentary on the full-size Sig P227.  My review period extended from approximately mid November 2013 to mid-April 2014 and covered 875 rounds.

I should point out that I purchase many handguns for the purpose of extended evaluations.  A typical evaluation period is 800-1000 rounds of all variety of practice and carry ammo.  By the end of the period, the firearm either makes it into my collection for some practical use-case or I sell the handgun.  I must report that the P227 fell into the latter category.

My original intended use was as a duty weapon for security work.  I need to be able to shoot the weapon well right- , left-, or two-handed.  I did not feel too uncomfortable with grip angle differences since it’s a matter of extending the right hand with either first-finger knuckle forward (Glock) or middle-knuckle forward (Sig).  That’s a matter of some initial dry-fire practice before switching from one firearm to the other.  I use a laser training cartridge when dry-fire training with either pistol.  The other notable difference is that a Glock is a six-o’clock sight picture and the P227 shot best for me by lining the sights directly on top of the target.

I felt the high bore axis might be an issue moving back and forth between my Glock 20 and I suspected there might be control issues since there is a de-cocker that forces that slide stop lever closer to where I normally rest my thumb.  There is, however, only one way to find out, so I purchased a P227 for an extended evaluation.

I’m used to a very high-thumb grip with both hands and the only way I could shoot the P227 accurately and reliably lock the slide back after the final round was to take a low-thumb grip with the right hand.  My left hand needed to be moved further forward and I shot from a Weaver stance.  I was taught an isosceles stance and that is what I practice most often.  I was capable of shooting the Sig reasonably well from a Weaver; in fact, I shot a perfect score on my level III range qualification with busted ribs.

The problems really started to show for me when I tested the P277 in draw from a holster and shooting one-handed.  This is where the unfamiliar grip and stance began to demonstrate issues in my accuracy.  So, I was forced to make a difficult decision.  Since Hornady offers a Critical Duty load for the 10mm that meets the FBI test criteria and does not over penetrate (sub-14″ through denim/gel), I now have the ability to configure my G20 for a wide variety of defensive scenarios ranging from security to hiking.  Glock also released the G41 which gives me a .45 option with extended sight radius and barrel length along with better capacity.  Yes, I have to work over the trigger and the front sight, but I had to do the same thing with the P227, so it’s not an issue for me.

In addition, I shoot my G20 pretty well one-handed (right or left).  Here is a photo my my brief practice session Saturday morning.  This is 20 rounds, shot right-handed, ten from three yards and ten from four yards.  I presented the firearm from a high-ready stance on each shot to simulate a one-shot reaction to a nearby threat (I was not allowed to draw from holster at this indoor range).

target

In summary, this decision was about what I shoot best and most reliably.  I really liked the feel of the P227 and it’s the first handgun I’ve ever evaluated in which round one felt exactly the same and just as good as round 875.  The P227 never failed to cycle and shoot anything I fed it, ranging from 185gr. Barnes-X to 220 gr. Critical Duty to all varieties of 230gr. FMJ.

Comments
  1. […] UPDATE: Part III of this review is now online. […]

  2. […] UPDATE:  Part II of this review is now online and Part III can be read here. […]