Ammo Biz .308 168gr. A-MAX Review

Posted: June 26, 2014 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve seen Ammo Biz at various Texas gun shows and recently noticed that they sell 168gr. A-MAX.  The price was $23 a box, which is the best I’ve seen anywhere for this load, so I could not help but comment on the pricing.  I received a response that “well, it’s nice to do business directly with the manufacturer.”  I took that to mean that the vendor might have some sort of special relationship with Hornady, although the business seems to be too small to warrant special pricing from such a large manufacturer.

My general experience is that items that are excessively cheap are that way for a reason, however there is no way to tell for sure without actually testing the product.  So, I purchased a box and headed out to Fusion Tactical Range for an evaluation.  Test gun was my Sig 716 Patrol and it was a rare Texas late-Spring day with no wind.

abiz3

abiz1

The packaging is no-frills, which I like since I’m not shooting the package 🙂  I’m not sure what that marking is on the bullet.

And, it gets worse.

abiz2

Hmmm … kind of looks like mil-surplus, pre-primed brass.  So, that’s the secret to the low price.  It’s also low-performance as such brass has a history of inconsistent performance.  I don’t have a chrono, but I did expect the rounds  to be slower than those used to zero the ACOG.

I was also evaluating White Thunder, so the first target was a small container (about 2.5 inches wide) resting on the side of the berm.  I aimed high and in five shots only managed to clip the target on the edge with a single shot.  I then setup a paper target to get a better idea of how the rounds impacted relative to POA.  They were all low-left.  I had a pretty decent group going until one round felt very ‘weird’ as the trigger broke.  That one was a flyer.  Like I said, inconsistent performance.

Next, I let Dane (the Fusion RSO, who is a very good shot) fire a few rounds just to get his opinion.  He aimed for the top of the Zombie head.

abiz4

Again, all low-left.  Not a bad group at all for an ACOG and a piston-drive AR-10, and that’s how I’d have to characterize this ammo.  Not bad for the price.  The best gun show price I’ve seen for the Hornady A-MAX load is $27.95, so you do save five bucks a box.  That would have to be the appeal of this product.  However, I’d gladly pay $25 for a load that performed as consistently as the A-MAX rounds I’ve shot from Hornady.

Thanks for visiting Texas Gun Show Review and if you would like future posts delivered to you directly, then click on the ‘Follow’ button at the bottom, right-hand corner of the blog or direct your friendly, neighborhood feed reader to this link.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments
  1. Caryl Anne says:

    Great review! I’ll have to keep this information in mind when purchasing my next round of ammo! Thanks for sharing!