Bayani Warrior Training Part IV

Posted: July 9, 2014 in General, Vendor Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

This is a brief review of the Bayani Warrior (Kali) training class last night at Trophy Fitness in Addison, TX. This review series provides some insight into the program from the perspective of a student progressing through the training.

We began with footwork and fitness drills. I’ve started doing Cross Fit, but am at the very early stages of that training as well. The Bayani Warrior program is very interval-aerobic intense. I thought I was in decent aerobic shape, but as the saying does, that’s what I get for thinking. I was noticeably tired by end of class.

There is a point to this progression that I’ve alluded to in prior posts.  Kali is all about what works in the real world.  And in the real world, you are often attacked after the end of a long work day when you are tired and mentally unprepared.  It is necessary to be able to focus and perform both under mental and physical duress.  So, classes begin at 8:15 PM (after a long work day) and we do not begin training until after significant physical exertion.

Last night’s class focused on the basic stick drills of which there are ten.  I’m still a beginner, so I am working on mastering the first five.  The advanced students broke off into a separate group and the instructor worked one-one-one with the old Padawan (yeah, that’s me – I don’t qualify as a young Padawan).

There are several aspects of the stick drills that I like.

– All the combinations focus on attack-points and counters that occur in real-life altercations.

– Footwork is emphasized in all drills as the primary response to a strike; a block is employed as a backup in case footwork does not cause the strike to miss.

– Empty-hand techniques (both strikes and covers) are used in the combinations.

– In terms of my private security work, every single stick combination applies directly to the collapsable baton, whether fully expanded or collapsed.

I really liked how the instructor talked about the philosophy behind each of the combinations and what each drill was designed to teach.  There was quite a bit of discussion on how an attacker telegraphs a strike by body and arm position.  The telegraph is used by the defender to prepare a movement/block/counter.

As always, there is great emphasis on striking the target.  This forces constant measuring of distance, which is an important skill in a real fight.  Each strike leaves a person vulnerable to a counter.  The worst outcome is to expend energy on a strike and either miss or strike ineffectively.  Energy is expended with little or no reward, and risk is greatly increased in terms of being forced to switch from attacker to defender.

Target control is reinforced by going through each drill in slow motion.  The student is required to lightly touch the actual target area to ensure correctness of the strike.

Of course, the risk in any combination drill is memorization of the individual moves and then anticipation  To counter such anticipation, the instructor worked with me in a simulated sparring environment.  We went through each combination while moving as if we were sparring.  I did not know when a strike was coming and he could not anticipate the timing of a counter.  I thought this was the best training of the evening.

I took notes on the individual moves in each of the stick combinations so that I could practice on my own at home.  This reminded me that I need to start bringing a notebook to every class.

After stick drills, the advanced students worked on empty-hand drills and class always ends with sparring.  Overall, it was another great evening of training and if you live in the D/FW area, please drop by Trophy Fitness Club in Addison on Tue. or Th. evenings to give it a try.

Thanks for spending part of your day at Texas Gun Show Review.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.