Good To Go Ammo 168gr. A-MAX Review

Posted: September 26, 2014 in Product Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

I am pleased to report that Good To Go Ammo is now loading A-MAX in .308, 168gr.  I received an evaluation bag just before leaving for vacation.  My evaluation took place at Fusion Tactical Range on a relatively cool, 82-degree morning.  This is significant since I previously zeroed my ACOG with GTG 168gr. Match for warm weather in May on a 95-degree afternoon.  The evaluation platform was a Sig 716 Patrol, firing from 100 yards using a single bag on the front for support.  Wind was right-to-left and slightly in my face.

I fired three strings of two shots.  Point of aim was the left-center of the heart and the first two were low as shown below.

gtg-amax

I adjusted the point of aim upward and the wind gusted a bit more on the second string.  I make a slight attempt to compensate on the second shot and my compensation was clearly off.  So, that result was me, not the ammo.

I adjusted the point of aim upward a final time and waited for the wind to quit gusting.  I got off two shots that felt really good and I was pretty pleased when I looked in the spotting scope.

Next, I loaded up the remaining 14 rounds and headed to the 25-yard line.  I fired the rounds from an unsupported position as fast as I could get the ACOG on the target.  There were no failures to feed or fire.

GTG has the price per 20 rounds listed as $19.40 on their web site.  That is the best price I’ve seen anywhere on a consistent, well-performing A-MAX load.  I’m going to wait until around the end of October and re-zero my ACOG for cool weather using the GTG A-MAX round and post a follow-up review at that time.

If you are interested in ordering some for yourself, use the code GTG12 at checkout to get an extra five percent off your order.  Please email me at txgunshowreview [at] gmail [dot] com regarding how the ammo performs for you.

Thanks for spending part of your day at Texas Gun Show Review.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

 

Comments are closed.