SHOT Show 2015 Day 2

Posted: January 22, 2015 in Show Reviews
Tags:

Day two of SHOT is always more firearm-intense for me and that means more photos, so prepare yourself in advance for an image-intense post 🙂

I have to start with some unfinished business from the prior day. My photo of the rack of new ported firearms from Smith and Wesson did not come out well, so I stopped back by the booth to take a photo of a single new model.

mp-ported

9mm and .40 S&W in 4- and 5-inch barrel lengths.

My timing was good in the sense that I was afforded a photo op with the first family of shooting sports.  Unfortunately, the person taking the photo was not experienced with my phone and there was an error in timing the shot.  Mrs. Miculek had her eyes closed and mouth open, so I intentionally cropped her out of the shot.  I did not want to present her in an unflattering light, but the image is still pretty funny because it looks like I’m photobombing the shot.  The Miculek family was sitting closely together, so we all had to stand behind them for photos.

miculek

Now for one for the ladies.  Lethal Lace combines a holster with a lacy wrap that allows women to quickly adjust carry location.  This allows the same firearm to be switched to accommodate moving from work to workout to evening wear.  Donning the holster is a simple, four-step process that even a bozo like me could follow.  The firearm starts in this position

lethal-lace-1

And ends as shown below

lethal-lace-4

I observed the draw stroke and it was simple and smooth, even with the firearm completely covered (max-conceal).  It’s good to see another innovative product that empowers women to take charge of their own defense.

On the subject of clothing, I wear 5.11 Stryke Pants, so a stop by the 5.11 booth is mandatory.  Lots of new gear and lights on display.  Here is one of their new backpacks

511-2

and my favorite of the new lights in the 2015 catalog.

511-1

Barretts are simply too cool

barret-1barret-2

Webster got it wrong.  There should be a picture of Cabot Guns by the word ‘magnificent.’

cabot

FNH was showing off the new carry pistols.  Here is the 9mm with the three supplied 12-rnd mags.  FNH also announced reduced pricing on black FNS models.

fnh-1

New rifles too (I had some additional coverage at the Texas International Firearms Festival)

fnh-2fnh-3

The UMP .45 from H&K really felt good in my hands.

hk-smg

and here is some other goodness from H&K

hk-grenade

s-5hk-2

It’s hard not to salivate when walking up to the LWRC booth.  New and interesting …

lwrc-1

lwrc-2

lwrc-3lwrc-4

When I saw the SIG booth, I went straight for the MCX, in 300 BLK, of course.

sig-mcx

Available in a carbine configuration, SBR, or pistol with the brace that can no longer be used as a stock substitute (well, at least don’t get seen by anyone).  5.56 and 7.62 models as well.

And yes, I did look at the new P220 10mm models.  Unlike VLTOR and the Bren-10 debacle (remember all the shouting about ‘December’ at SHOT 2014 – no, there was no Bren 10 at the booth and the staff didn’t seem to care), SIG delivered the goods.  Here I am in a clumsy attempt to dual-wield with the wires attached to all the firearms.

sig-10mm

I look more like a puppet, so here is a much better shot.

sig-10mm-2

And, here are a couple more new goodies from SIG.

sig-1

sig-2

sig-3

Most of the pistols are cosmetically different versions of existing models.

Springfield was showing off the Mod 2.  The bore axis is too high for my taste, but it did feel good to grip.

springfield-mod2

and here are a couple other items in the new for 2015 category

springfield-1911

springfield-1

Here are some misc. shots from the remainder of the day on the floor.

ruger

s-1

s-2

s-3

s-4

s-7

s-8

s-9

And, I’ll close with what most of you are most interested in …

hottie1

hottie2

hottie3

hottie4

hottie5

hottie6hottie7

hottie8

Thanks for spending part of your day with Texas Gun Show Review.  More from SHOT Show 2015 tomorrow.

– Diligencia, Vis, Celeritas

Comments are closed.